DSLR

Pooya

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 23, 2004
Vancouver, Canada
www.IranSportsPress.com
houman jaan i dont know about D5100 (not a nikon guy) but have you considered 60D ? i just purchased one yesterday , upgrading from Canon Xsi. I am a canon junkie so i can help you with any canon camera dont know anything about Nikon, if you tell me what you are going to use the camera for and what level is your photography i will be able to help.

Cheers,

houman

Bench Warmer
Oct 14, 2004
Dallas, TX
I'm a novice; been using point and shoot for a while, granted I try to mess with the settings on it, but frustrated with that lack of options, so trying to move to DSLR. 60D I feel like is a bit too advanced for me.

Pooya

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 23, 2004
Vancouver, Canada
www.IranSportsPress.com
I still recommend the 60D the price difference is 200$ but its a camera you keep for YEARS, T3i is good but I dont like the AF (auto focus) system, it uses a single CT focus point while 60D has 9 cross point , this might not make much sense to you now but trust me once it does u will be like damn i wish i got the 60D !!! another major difference is burst rate of T3i is 3.7, while 60D is 5.3 and 7D is 8, if you are into action shots, the slow T3i will cause a problem. another issue is ISO performance, 60D does MUCH better in low light so perfect for those condition. there are other differences like 60D does Wireless flash control so incase you decide to use multi flash and so on. I personally think

1-) If you go T3i , you will keep it for a year or 2, then want to upgrade to a 7D or FF (Full Frame)
2-) if you go 60D, you will keep it for atleast 3-4 years then upgrade to FF
3-) if you think this will always be a LOW priority hobby go with T3i its a very good camera if you aint planning to make photography a serious hobby :)

btw the Video performance of both camera is similar with T3i having better Crop and 60D manual sound adjustment.