Pathological lying and narcissism

IEI

Administrator
Staff member
Nov 10, 2002
Question: Why are they lying ? For profit or every aspect of life ?

TeamMeli

Elite Member
Feb 5, 2014
Las Vegas, NV
Well here is my take after talking to my psych and psychiatrist I don't need to lie about smithing and I think I can chime in.
Check this out 13 traits of a narcissist from Psychologist Today I find that the two go hand and hand and most Narcissists I know are sociopaths and compulsive liars.I figure it is less pressure to be honest like I mentioned to everyone I am not going to BYU anymore and I am transferring to Purdue in the Summer.
If anyone asks am I going to school, I will say, "I am taking a Sabbatical until the Summer, I am studying for a Praxis 5038 English comprehensive exam," Problem solved.
https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/lifetime-connections/202110/the-13-traits-narcissist

Nov 29, 2002
Sherwin;n1026597 said:
Ok look I am going to be honest to you guys and fess up this is not my mock draft. This mock draft belongs to my friend Matt Chase. Sorry for lying again but it will never happen anymore. I am not going to lie over stupid things like this anymore and just post my own original tings. Once again I apologize.
Do you guys think pathological lying can be cured, or is it a trait that people have throughout their lives...? If someone hits 40 and is still lying or copying things to impress peopel, do you think they have hope?

I really want the answer to be yes and I personally believe it is never too late to change, but the change needs to come from within. What do you guys think?

RaminS

Feb 19, 2009
Do you guys think pathological lying can be cured, or is it a trait that people have throughout their lives...? If someone hits 40 and is still lying or copying things to impress peopel, do you think they have hope?