Question for anyone who is studying law in Australia/Melb.

Jul 5, 2008
Melbourne
Just had a couple of questions.

Basically wanted to see if anyone, preferably a graduate has tried going outside of Australia for work? Mainly Singapore, Dubai, Hong Kong or Malaysia. I know Singapore is very strict.

I am currently in my last year, and have been at a respectable private firm for my internship for the past year (i could stay here once i graduate). But i am really curious to see what the situation would be for someone with an Australian law degree going to Dubai or Hong Kong.

Last year i actually applied through my uni in hope to facilitate an exchange for 2 semesters to USA but due to lack of funds the program was cancelled completely. One of my closest mates also graduated 2 years ago, and began working in Melbourne with Minter Ellison and even had a interview with one of its offices in Hong Kong, financially it is much better over there then what it is in Melbourne from what i hear. Needless to say he has his mind set on Dubai, he has even been learning arabic for the past 2-3 years now and is quite fluent.

I think in terms of salary it is worth it going and working overseas, even if it is only for a 5-6 year period after graduation. If i am correct, haven't checked for a while Sydney leads the way in grad salaries, followed closely by Perth & Melbourne.

Anyone with experience working outside of Australia or know anyone who has?

Aug 26, 2005
I haven't gone overseas but from a lot of the job sites I looked they want lawyers with several years experience at good firms. So I don't think a graduate can get them, but you can check; you never know.

From what I have also heard from good sources is that Dubai, in particular, is not really a hiring place as their economy has turned to shit. Was definitely a good place a few years ago.

Jul 5, 2008
Melbourne