---Wanted---

mashtnaghi

National Team Player
Oct 18, 2002
Here is a recipe with lamb.

Make the haleem the same way you would make it with Turkey. Replace the turkey with lamb, or Switzerland. :)

JazzedUp

Bench Warmer
Dec 1, 2002
London
Romira said:
the recipes i've got are not precise. it dose not really get into details of it.
and i did not think haleem was made w/ turkey meat in iran.
Well I haven't had Haleem since I was a kid but I remember it always had turkey meat. I'm no expert on Persian cuisine and I'm just saying what I recall.

mashtnaghi

National Team Player
Oct 18, 2002
Here is how I do it:

Slow cook the wheat. Throw it into a food processor a bit at the time. Process until it is smooth. Top each serving with melted butter, sugar, and cinnamon to taste. No meat.

Toofan

Elite Member
Nov 14, 2004
Qom
www.toofan.org
Haleem Baadenjaan

Ingredients: (4 servings)

Small eggplants, 6

Lamb or beef, 500 grams

Kashk, one glass (kashk is thick whey, and should be purchased in Iran or at an Iranian store)

Medium onions, 4

Dried mint, 2 spoons (or 200 grams of fresh mint)

Cooking oil

Salt

Black pepper

Directions:
Peel and finely chop onions, Fry in oil until golden. Save half for later use. Cut meat into small pieces and fry with onions until color changes. Add 2-3 glasses of hot water and cook over medium heat for about 45 minutes. If necessary, additional hot water should be added while cooking.

Peel eggplants and slice length-wise to a thickness of 1 cm. Add salt and pepper and fry on both sides on medium heat until golden. Mash the meat and eggplants and mix well. Add the gravy from the meat and one glass of hot water to the mix and cook over low heat, mixing occasionally until no water is left. Remove the mix from heat. Add kashk and mix well, then add fried onions on top.

Fry dried mint in oil for a few minutes. (If fresh mint is used, wash and finely chop it, then fry in oil). Also add fried mint on top of Haleem Baadenjaan and serve.